Conquering the Gourd: Vegan Zucchini Pancakes

Zucchini fills me with dread.  Recollections of childhood traumas flood my taste memory banks: I am awash in bitter-skinned, slimy-seeded, mushy horror.

Last year, fella’s mum gifted us with a large summer squash.  I tried to evade the gift of the gourd, but it still ended up in my fridge, where it quietly rotted for six weeks.

This year, I didn’t bother protesting the zucchini, and instead set about finding some way to make it palatable.  Enter Vegan Zucchini Pancakes from Little Miss Vegan.  I was not in the mood for adventuring today, so a recipe was welcome if somewhat unhardheaded.

Even so, I tweaked.  I didn’t want an enormous batch, so scaled back.  The original recipe, for example, called for 3 zucchinis.

Three of these?

Mmm.  Yeah, maybe not.  I used 2 cups (still only 2/3 of one massive gourd, illustrating the importance of common sense, and not blindly following a recipe), and reduced the other ingredients by about a third.  I used regular onions, not green, and tossed in vibrant yellow sweet pepper to brighten the dish.  I also added fresh-ground nutmeg, having heard that it enhances flavours, and because the batter tasted bland.  By the way, being able to taste batter is one of the vegan perks I enjoy most.  Though it’s somewhat more rewarding when, say, baking chocolate cake.

Vegan Zucchini Pancakes (adapted from Little Miss Vegan)

  • 2 cups grated zucchini (I chopped mine via food processor)
  • 1/2-3/4 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 garlic clove
  • a few tablespoons minced onion
  • 1/4 cup minced sweet pepper
  • 1 tbsp olive oil, plus extra for pan-frying
  • 1 tbsp corn starch
  • A couple grates fresh nutmeg
  • 2 tbsp water

Mix ingredients and spoon a couple tablespoons full at a time into a medium-hot pan with a bit of olive oil in it.  Turn when first side is nicely browned, and press down to make flat.  When both sides are browned, remove and keep warm in a 200 F oven while you finish the rest.

Despite sticking a little (probably more to do with my oil not being hot enough, and me being hungry and impatient than with the recipe), the end result was great; flavourful, crisp on the outside, and soft (but not gross and sticky) inside.  Best of all, they taste nothing like zucchini.

Vegan zucchini pancakes, served with new banana fingerlings and arugula salad.

You can check out Little Miss Vegan’s recipe at http://littlemissvegan.com/dinner/vegan-zucchini-pancakes/

Next blog: what I did with squash blossoms…

2 Comments Add yours

  1. You are ridiculously adorable!

    1. J L says:

      🙂 Thank you! And thanks for following and commenting (it makes me feel popular!).

Leave a Reply

