Breakfast Brownies

I’m stealing a few moments for a quick brownie post.  Brownies are one of the first things I veganized.  Some standard recipes call for eggs, in which case I’d use 1 tbsp ground flax with 1/4 cup water to replace each egg.  This particular recipe, though is simply flour, cocoa, sweetness, fat, a touch of water, a vanilla splash, and a bit of baking powder.  Easy stuff.

I call for fair trade cocoa.  It’s often much pricier than standard cocoa, which means that I have a lot less chocolate in my life than I once did.  On the other hand, after learning how frequently child labourers are used in the harvest of cocoa, I can no longer feel like a decent human being when buying standard cocoa powder.  So, brownies and hot chocolate are now a treat, and that’s just fine.

I first made this recipe for a friend’s housewarming.  Her hubby finished the rest off for breakfast. I believe his reasoning was that they’re vegan, and therefore must be healthy, and therefore are basically the same thing as a bowl of granola, nutritionally speaking.  And that’s logic I can get on board with.

Breakfast Brownies

2 cups whole wheat flour
3/4 cup fair trade cocoa
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 cup maple syrup
1 cup organic sugar
2/3 cup sunflower oil
1/4 cup water
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup – 3/4 cup chopped nuts (optional)

1. Preheat oven to 350 F.
2. Sift together flour, cocoa, and baking powder in a bowl.
3. Combine maple syrup, oil, sugar, water, and vanilla in a separate bowl.
4. Gradually stir dry ingredients into liquid ingredients.
5. Fold in nuts, if using.
6. Spread into a greased pan and bake about 20-30 minutes, or until a knife or toothpick inserted into the brownies comes out clean.
7. Let cool slightly (or not at all, if you prefer…and I often prefer) then slice and serve.

Okay, truthfully, this is not my best brownie image. But … the brownies were all gone soon after the baking was done, and this was all I had left by the time I got around to breaking out the camera.

 

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. kyarul says:

    Thank you and to your friend’s husband. He has just given us all the justification needed to have brownies for breakfast!! Oh, and if I use ground almonds then it’s just like flour and who’s ever to know? certainly not the nut haters!!! Oh if only they knew the cakes I’d made with ground almonds!!!

  2. kyarul says:

    Oh yes if they are left to linger as the taste is not for most…I tuck them up in the freezer and just remove one at a time to defrost and make my belly happy and no one goes moouldy!

  3. kyarul says:

    !In fact. Thanks. You’ve convinced me to get out of bed and make my sabbath treat!

  4. kyarul says:

    Thanks!!! There are only 2 left! No. I didn’t eat them all.

Leave a Reply

