Chickpea Salad – a Tale of Slaughter

You might think vegan blogging involves zero slaughter.  You’d be wrong.

As I sat to write this late night post on Chickpea Salad, snuggled in my fleecy old bathrobe and well-loved flannel pants, contemplating my negligence as a blogger (11 days since my last post?), I tucked my legs into a comfy cross-legged position.  And felt, more than heard, that strange, special release.  The horrific sound/sensation of well-loved flannel pants.  Tearing.  Tearing wide, tearing free.  In a key and rather delicate location.  (Location not pictured.)

The Pretty Kitty flannel pants that gave their decency (and, I might add, mine) so that I might sit in comfort to bring you this post.

Despite this tragic loss, I thugged it out and pressed on to bring you this recipe.

I’ve heard and seen recipes over the years for something that was meant to approximate tuna salad.  Quite frankly, I don’t think it’s particularly tuna-y, which is fine by me since, even in my meat-eating days, I was never that big on the fish thing.  I decided to try making some last week, however, and was pleasantly surprised.  Fella enjoyed it too, which I appreciate, since I find it useful to have a non-vegan’s opinion, even one who is so deliciously biased in my favour.

Chickpea Salad

2 cups cooked chickpeas
1/3 cup minced onion
1/3 cup minced sweet pepper
1/3 cup minced pickle
1/3 cup vegan mayonnaise
1/3 cup chopped walnuts
1/4 cup minced dill carrots (optional, but they add colour, zip, and crunch)
1 tbsp olive oil
1/4 tsp dried basil
fresh thyme, to taste (I used the leaves of a couple stalks)
fresh-ground salt and pepper, to taste

1. Mash chickpeas until they are well broken up.
2. Combine remaining ingredients and stir.  Adjust seasonings as needed.

Oh.  And, since I’ve already shared that I tore my pants, I might as well share not only the glorious image of sweet success…

Ta da!

… but also, scenes of considerably less elegance…

How’s about hoisting this forkful of delicious salad to a height where the dirty pots and electric kettle won’t appear in the shot? Oh yeah…right up to the sweet beige backdrop of the upper cupboards right up to eyebrow level… oh yeah, this could never go wrong …
Splat.
7 Comments Add yours

  1. ethelthedean says:

    Holy flip – that looks amaaaazing! Also, dill carrots!? How did I not know these things existed?

    1. J L says:

      It’s quite tasty! And quick, which is also essential at times. Dill carrots…they’re special treat. The fella’s mum actually introduced me to them…she cans a nice big batch every summer…so crisp and tart. I think I’ve also seen them at home-preserve tables at Farmers Markets, too…

  2. kyarul says:

    Looks yummy. May have to soak up that half bag of chickpeas lingering in the cupboard. Might be using the purple carrots from my veg box in this.
    Oh, and although those pjs are ripped they can live on as part of a scrap quilt!!!! True love never dies!!

  3. Yes, please let me know if you try the recipe! It’s a lunchtime favourite around here. I’d love to see a pic of the salad with pretty purple carrots, too.

    I’m ashamed to say that I actually wore the ripped pjs two nights ago. The fella came into the kitchen and gave me a hug of concern, and seemed to want to reassure me that times aren’t so bad that we have to wear ripped pants.

  4. Ally says:

    Hehehe, I enjoyed reading this post. 🙂
    The things we do for the ‘perfect’ (or good enough!) shot.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

