Sunshine Soup

Two posts in one day.  I must be on a roll.  And on a theme.

Tonight’s dinner was the result of several situations intersecting.  Fella was feeling a bit under the weather, and I thought something easy to eat, kind on the digestive system, and appealingly comforting would be ideal.  Local carrots are cheap and huge.  And I have a large quantity of root vegetables and winter squash lingering in the vegetable crisper, taking up valuable real estate and making the drawer dangerously heavy.

pumpkin tower
Got gourds? Try this soup on for size…

Sunshine soup to the rescue.  Bright, warm, and ever so slightly spicy, the “recipe” is pretty forgiving.  Sometimes I’ve made it with coconut milk, other times using only pumpkin as the base.  A few times, I’ve nestled in a touch of vanilla.  Once, I omitted the spices and ginger altogether and used nutritional yeast and savoury herbs for a different kind of style.

Tonight, I wanted the cozy aroma of spices, though.  Fella is actually strongly opposed to the autumnal gourd, so I did use carrots and beautiful golden beets in there, but sneakily included some butternut squash.  The only comment made was “Mmmm!” so I’m taking that as evidence that the combination is gourd-hater-friendly.  (Sorry about the deception, babe…love you!)

Sunshine Soup

water, for cooking
oil
2 gold beets
3 bay leaves
6 whole pimento
1 1/3 cup cooked, mashed butternut squash
2 large carrots
1/2 a small onion
1 small to medium garlic clove
1 cup almond milk
1/4 cup plain soy creamer (or just use another 1/4 cup soymilk)
2 tbsp freshly grated ginger
1/2 tsp curry powder
freshly grated nutmeg
powdered cinnamon
salt and black pepper, to taste

1. Cut the beets into sixths.  In a small pot, combine beets, 2 cups water, and the bay leaves and pimento.  Bring to a boil, then simmer until very tender, about 30 minutes.

2. Thinly slice onion and carrots, and mince garlic.  In a small amount of oil, sautee the onion until just starting to brown.  Add the carrots and garlic, and cook for a few minutes until the carrots begin to brown.  Cover, adding a small amount of water if necessary, and steam until carrots are tender, about 7 minutes.

3. Remove bay leaves and pimento, and blend beets and water from cooking beets.  Also blend carrot mixture.

4. In a large pot, combine mashed and blended vegetables, another 2 cups water, 1 cup almond milk, the ginger, the curry powder, several shakes (I used about 7) cinnamon and a few (I used about 5) grates of nutmeg.  Add salt and black pepper, to taste, and let simmer 10-15 minutes on low.  Stir in soy creamer and adjust seasonings if necessary.

5. Garnish, if you like, and serve with your favourite bread or biscuits.

pumpkin carrot beet soup
Sunshine soup, garnished with red sweet pepper and served with whole wheat biscuits.
7 Comments Add yours

  1. ethelthedean says:

    That looks absolutely dee-lish. I will for sure make this, this winter.

    And thank you for the shout out! I am delighted and humbled (and here to help with any future running questions/etc.)
    xx

    1. Please let me know if you try and like it, Ethelthedean. And you’re welcome for the shout out…entirely earned 🙂 Running keeps drifting into my radar, so perhaps 2013 will be the year…

  2. Ally says:

    Yum! I like the sounds of this.
    It has been a sunshine-y day at your place!

    1. It was a very sunshiny day. And all the good cheer and orange veggies worked; the sun came out in full force for the first time in days today! Vitamin D to back up that Vitamin A.

  3. D’oh! Folks, I am daft. I forgot to type in 2 tbsp freshly grated ginger in the recipe. I’ve amended it now.

  4. CMRock says:

    This looks so good! I’m going to have to try to make it soon. Thanks for your support on my blog. I really appreciate it, and have nominated you for a Liebster Award! Check it out and pay the love forward.
    http://sauteedgarlic.wordpress.com/2012/11/15/well-shucks/

    1. Oh, I’ve been negligent–sorry I didn’t respond sooner, CMRock! You’re welcome, and a huge thank you in return! Liebster Award, hm? This has brought a big grin to my face! I’ve got some homework to do 🙂

Leave a Reply

