Roasted Cauliflower

Roasted cauliflower: ever tried it?

Roasted Cauliflower.
Roasted Cauliflower.

If you haven’t, you should.  I’ve enjoyed this tasty cruciferous friend in roast veg mixes alongside sweet potatoes, carrots, parsnips, and onions, but it’s also yummy on its own.

Roasted cauliflower is supposed to be the way to prep cauliflower for people who don’t like cauliflower.  I’m not one of those people–I love it steamed, stir-fried, curried, in a soup, and raw–but roasting does bring out a lovely sweet caramelized quality, and makes it both tender and slightly crisp.

It’s very easy to prepare: just break into bite-sized florets, toss in your choice of seasonings, drizzle with a bit of oil, and bake until lightly browned and tender enough for your tastes, stirring a few times.

IMG_2728

I kept it simple tonight with salt, pepper, dried basil, and olive oil, 375 F for half an hour, though I’ve also tried it with jerk seasoning, cumin and turmeric, and with nutritional yeast.  I’ve never been disappointed, and it’s well worth the five minutes it takes to assemble, especially if  you already have the oven on for another dish.

 

Here it is, served up with local lettuce, organic carrots, and Macaroni and Cheese.

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. soulofspice says:

    roasted cauliflower Yum!! never used nutritional yeast before.. what does it do..

    1. Oh, nutritional yeast is tasty stuff. It’s a deactivated yeast, which sounds entirely unappealing, but it’s got a rich, savoury flavour. It’s often included in vegan recipes when you want a cheese-esque taste, and is really high in b-vitamins and protein. And it’s tasty stuff.

  2. Ally says:

    How did I miss this?
    I am a big fan of cauliflower but I have never thought to bake it.
    Next time I do baked vegies, I’ll chuck in some cauli. Thanks for the tip. But I’d also like to try it this way too. It looks delicious.
    🙂

    1. I’d never thought much of it until last year, when a hunt for something interesting to do with cauliflower led me to this secret grail of yumminess. A little broccoli is nice too, though I think it’s nicest when it doesn’t roast for too long. Something about those little florets getting all savoury and crispy…

Leave a Reply

