Blueberry Breakfast Crumble

Blueberry Breakfast Crumble

Yesterday, I posted about my ironic Strawberry Banana Smoothie, made with love for my banana-loving comrade, by my banana-hating hands.  Since it’s a long weekend here on the West Coast, I’m still in fancy breakfast mode.

What makes a breakfast crumble a breakfast crumble?  Oh, I think you know!
What makes a breakfast crumble a breakfast crumble? Oh, I think you know!

To balance out yesterday’s altruistic post, I’m sharing a more selfish pleasure: Blueberry Breakfast Crumble.

I was talking to one of my sisters as I prepped this wheat-free take on a classic dish, and she asked what makes a crumble a breakfast crumble.  Can you guess?

Usually, I advocate for hearty, savoury breakfast foods like tofu crumbles and things involving complex starches, garlic, and onions.  Occasionally, though, I want something a little sweeter.  Enter the breakfast crumble.

I can think of several reasons why this crumble is an excellent choice as a morning food:

1. It’s packed with delicious oats.  Heart-healthy, fibrous, mineral-rich, and considerably more exciting than oatmeal.
2. It’s full of antioxidant-rich blueberries.  Vitamins C and K, anyone?
3. Nuts!  Both almonds and walnuts star in this lush breakfast buddy.  Manganese, magnesium, phosphorus, Vitamin B2, Vitamin E, and lush Omega 3s.

Omega 3s, vitamins C, K, and E, fibre gone to bed.
Omega 3s, vitamins C, K, and E, fibre gone to bed.

4. Quick.  It takes about 5 minutes to toss everything together, leaving more time for morning laziness while it quietly bakes.

5. Wheat-free.  I won’t say gluten-free, as there is some argument as to whether oats contain gluten or not.

Considering many of the less virtuous traditional morning dishes (donuts, muffins, coffee cake … all of which I love, and if anyone’s coming up from Seattle, yes, I would love some Mighty O donuts, thank you!), this nutritious pleasure is entirely appropriate.  You are, in fact, doing yourself a disservice if you don’t have breakfast crumble.

Having provided my justifications for turning a dessert food into breakfast, I present, without further ado and also without guilt, the Blueberry Breakfast Crumble.

Blueberry Breakfast Crumble

Filling:

1/4 cup almonds
2 cups blueberries (I used frozen, but can’t wait until fresh are in season here!)
1/2 tsp almond extract
1 Tbsp organic raw sugar

Topping:

Crisp, golden oaty topping with that pretty purple filling peeking through.  I'm ready!
Crisp, golden oaty topping with that pretty purple filling peeking through. I’m ready!

1 cup rolled oats
1/4 cup sugar
1/4 cup Earth Balance (or your vegan fat of choice)
1/4 cup walnuts
pinch of salt

1. Preheat oven to 375 F.
2. Make the filling by first grinding the nuts in a food processor, then combining them with the remaining filling ingredients.
3. Make an oat flour by grinding 1/2 cup of the oats in the food processor until fine.  Combine with the remaining topping ingredients.
4. Place filling in a lightly greased dish.  Cover with topping and bake for 20-25 minutes, or until golden brown on top.

I haven’t experimented much with wheat-free baking, but thought this would be an easy access point, since crumble topping is mostly oats anyway.  I didn’t miss the flour in the topping at all.  Normally, I add a bit of flour to the filling to prevent it from being too runny, and I did miss it here.  Next time, I may add a tablespoon or two of the oat flour to the filling to fulfill this function.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Ally says:

    Oh this looks good! Totally breakfast-appropriate in my book. 🙂
    Brown rice flour may work well in the filling, although oat flour sounds entirely suitable.

    1. Thanks for the brown rice flour idea, Ally! I should give that a try. A few frozen blueberries are lingering from last year, and it’s nearly time for fresh ones to come into season again so I better find *something* to do with them! (Hardship…)

Leave a Reply

