Never too old…

You’re never too old for a new perspective.  Take me and radishes.

I’ve always been emotionally neutral about radishes.  I think you can guess why.

Raw radishes.  Sneaky, zesty little things.  Pretty, though.
Raw radishes. Sneaky, zesty little things. Pretty, though.

As a child, they felt like a trick.  Bright pink, juicy and crisp, quickly giving way to an irritating pungeny and quickfading, heat.  And despite looking like delicious, misshapen fairy apples, they’re utterly bereft of sweetness.

Recently I learned that radishes can be cooked.  In fact, they should be.

IMG_2817

Now, if you’re in love with the raw radish’s zesty and nippy character, you might not be enticed.  If, like me, you’ve resisted the radish up til now, try quartering them, then browning in a little oil, perhaps with a bit of garlic and a few fresh herbs.

Don't be fooled by those fuzzy leaves.  Radish leaves are not only edible, they're tender, quick-cooking, and delicious.
Don’t be fooled by those fuzzy leaves. Radish leaves are not only edible, they’re tender, quick-cooking, and delicious.

And don’t forget to use the radish tops.  Despite looking slightly fuzzy in their pure state, chopped radish greens cook up quick and tender.  I’ve been feasting on both radish parts straight-up or with brown rice vermicelli and purple sage leaves.

Crispy brown rice vermicelli with garlic, purple sage, and stir-fried radishes and radish tops.
Crispy brown rice vermicelli with garlic, purple sage, and stir-fried radishes and radish tops.

On a side note, it’s asparagus season!  I’ve been trying to appreciate local, in-season veggies as much as possible, so I haven’t had asparagus since last year this time.

In BC, asparagus comes but once a year.
In BC, asparagus comes but once a year.

 

Stir-fried radishes, asparagus with garlic scapes and dill, purple sage-herbed tofu, and brown rice.
Stir-fried radishes, asparagus with garlic scapes and dill, purple sage-herbed tofu, and brown rice.
5 Comments Add yours

  1. Ally says:

    I have never cooked radishes. It never occurred to me. Thanks for broadening my radish horizons.
    I adore asparagus too.
    I love the sound of crispy brown rice vermicelli. That is new to me. I’ve only ever seen the white rice version. I’ll have to go in search of it.
    Your tofu looks very appealing too.

    1. I’d never thought of it either, but someone dropped the hint in my ear and I haven’t looked back since. And I can’t believe how much I love the greens. They’re a pretty standard green-flavoured green, but very palatable and totally worth enjoying.
      Oh, and the brown rice vermicelli is such a good friend. I encountered it in my student days when meals that could be prepped in a handful of minutes were imperative. (Ah, who am I kidding, it’s just as imperative now.) I love that they need nothing more than a passing splash of hot water to become pliable and ready to be enjoyed. Although I much prefer to introduce them to a little oil afterwards to make them crispy and nice. And the tofu is seasoned with some grated garlic, salt and pepper, chopped purple sage (I’m obsessed with that stuff, really), then rolled in a bit of flour and crisped up in a little oil. Mmmm…hungry again.

  2. zen treats says:

    It’s fun to rediscover veggies you didn’t like as a youth and realize with a few simple adjustments you actually love the thing. Who knew. Thanks for sharing

    1. It really is fun! I wasn’t very picky when I was younger, but there were a few no-nos, and I like to give them a chance and be pleasantly surprised 🙂

  3. kyarul says:

    Yay. I tried them in a soup. Tops and chopped bottoms. Yum. I also had some hulled corn, barley, lentils, courgette, and of course the obvious, onion and garlic and a heap of seasonings. Yum. Snacked on it all week. Cooking is the way to go for my radishes now!! No more lingering in the bottom of the veg box.

Leave a Reply

